Skip to content

Powder metallurgy

Neue Materialien Fürth GmbH

The new Temconex® technology developed by Neue Materialien Fürth GmbH involves continuous powder extrusion. In a cost-effective single-step process, metal powders are transformed directly into dense wires or profiles.

The basis of the  Temconex® process is the ConformTM process. Unlike the ConformTM process, powder is used as the feedstock, rather than continuous cast wire rod. Moreover, the systems have undergone significant modification; in particular, they now feature a special tool cooling and heating system (Temconex® technology = temperature controlled continuous extrusion) .

The Temconex® process is considerably more cost-effective than the conventional extrusion press process for consolidating powders. It also allows chips to be processed. The Temconex® method yields advantages over traditional metal melting processes for difficult-to-process metals, very thin wires and complex profiles.

Furthermore, at NMF, we can use a roller compactor to transform the bulk material into granules before commencing the Temconex® process. This binder-free dry agglomeration increases productivity and reduces the risk of explosions and reactions.

Contacts

Team leader:
M.Sc. Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Matthias List

Scientific leadership:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Marion Merklein
Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Carolin Körner

Contact: temconex@nmfgmbh.de

Pulvermetallurgie

Neue Materialien Fürth GmbH

Die bei der Neue Materialien Fürth GmbH neu entwickelte Temconex®-Technologie stellt eine kontinuierliche Pulverextrusion dar. In einem kostengünstigen einstufigen Prozess werden Metallpulver direkt zu dichten Drähten oder Profilen verarbeitet.

Der Temconex®-Prozess wurde aus dem älteren ConformTM-Prozess entwickelt. Im Gegensatz zum ConformTM-Prozess ist das Aufgabegut Pulver statt Gießwalzdraht. Außerdem sind die Anlagen deutlich modifiziert, insbesondere verfügen sie über eine spezielle Werkzeugkühlung und -beheizung (Temconex®-Technologie = temperature controlled continuous extrusion) .

Der Temconex®-Prozess ist wesentlich kostengünstiger als der übliche Strangpressprozess zur Konsolidierung von Pulvern. Er gestattet auch die Verarbeitung von Spänen. Bei schwer verarbeitbaren Metallen und sehr dünnen Drähten, bzw. komplexen Profilen kann die Temconex®-Route außerdem Vorteile gegenüber der klassischen Schmelzmetallurgie bieten.

Zusätzlich besteht bei NMF die Möglichkeit, das Schüttgut vor der Verarbeitung im Temconex®-Prozess mittels einer Walzenpresse zu einem Granulat aufzubereiten. Diese bindemittelfreie Trockenagglomeration erhöht die Produktivität und reduziert Explosions- und Reaktionsrisiko.

Ansprechpartner

Gruppenleiter:
M.Sc. Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Matthias List

Wissenschaftliche Leitung:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Robert F. Singer

Kontakt: temconex@nmfgmbh.de